Let it Snow!

As with most years, I hope with all my heart from late October to late March that we endure a winter with little snow and just a frosting of glittering ice. 

It’s not that I don’t like snow, I enjoy the soft crunch as my feet sink down into the white fluffy stuff, I love the look of the countryside smothered in white, trees bare but weighed down with snow!  What I don’t like is getting up on a working morning to the prospect of de-icing the car, which won’t warm up until I’m just pulling into my space at work.  I detest the media coverage that tries it’s best to make you think the new ice age is upon us!  I don’t like driving in the conditions but I think that some people should have just a little more confidence and some people a little less!

It has to be said that I may sound here like a grumpy old man!  Bah!  I’ve been out digging the stuff today and I like that, that satisfaction of clearing the driveway, sweat dripping from my brow, my back aching from the effort.  My little boy helped me which was good, a little bit of son and Dad bonding (though he’s only 10 and I’m sure he’ll conveniently disappear, just like his two older brothers did today, once he hits 13).

It’s actually not too bad having the snow on a weekend when I have no travel planned and as long as it doesn’t dump a load tonight I’ll be happy, or happier!  Tell me about your weather, do you like snow?

 

8 Comments

Filed under General

8 responses to “Let it Snow!

  1. Snow, blah – if I liked snow I would’ve stayed up north. I grew up in Eastern Montana, flatlands, where the wind would blow for miles with nothing to interrupt it but some sagebrush and antelope – winters were miserable, lots of snow and very cold. Then I moved out to Portland, Oregon for a few years, and that was bliss – very little snow, warmer climate – coastal climate. Then back to Montana. In January – what a shock to the system! From there to Fargo, ND – eastern North Dakota is as bad as eastern Montana – and on to Minneapolis, Minnesota – a touch farther south, but still quite snowy – before ending up here in Georgia, where over the past 10 years, we’ve only had snow 4 times (two of which were in the same year) and a couple ice storms. Mostly winter temps are in the 40s – this winter they’ve mostly stayed in the 50s and 60s, so it’s not really winter, is it? I much prefer it!

  2. I grew up with winter (not as extreme as Fargo,ND or Minnesota!) but still cold, with experience of snow and ice. As a child, I loved to play in it. However, as an adult, I prefer to look out at it, preferably from long distance. I live in Florida, and have done for over 30 years, and relish NOT having to de-ice my car, worry about fish-tailing as I drive on the highway, digging out the drive, or that horrible icy cold, clammy feeling when snow gets in my boots!

    • Ah, Florida – my spouse and I went to the Orlando/Kissimmee (I can never remember how to spell that …) area for our 1st anniversary, 9 years ago. I remember swimming OUTSIDE on 2/6/2003 … it was mid-70s. And that was the northern part of the state! What a lovely climate – at least in the winter. I hear tell it can get a bit muggy in the summer … 😉 Still, I wouldn’t mind AT ALL living on the Gulf Coast area, except for the hurricanes …

  3. I’m with you – I don’t like snow or winter driving conditions or digging the car out. In the first two weeks of December 2010, we had more snow than we had the whole winter on 2009/2010 and it just never seemed to quit. But this year we have had very little. One overnight storm a few weeks ago left us with about 15″, but by the end of the week the temperature was in the 50s and the snow all melted. We had a green Christmas for the first time in a very long time. That’s fine with me. Often we have an ice storm in January, but have not had one this year. I’m just hoping the rest of the “winter” will be more of the same warmer temperatures and no snow.

  4. I used to go to the Sarasota area in mid-summer back in the 70s and 80s. love that area. But it can get pretty sticky in the summer. I didn’t have any choice in when I went as the company I worked for closed down for holidays. I remember one year it was so wet that I felt as if I could wring the water out of the sheets in the morning. But that to me is far better than snow, ice and freezing temperatures.

  5. Krishna panikker

    HI! JOHN, I HAVE NEVER SEEN NOR FELT SNOW!THOUGH MY MALAYSIANS FRIENDS WHO ARE STAYING OVERSEAS HAVE EXPERIENCED IT.IT SOUNDS FUN ESPECIALLY THE WAY YOU HAVE WRITTEN. BACK IN MALAYSIA WE HAVE “SUMMER” ALL THE TIME!OF COURSE THERE IS OUR RAIN AND FLOODS TO TAKE PLACE IN SOME PARTS OF OUR COUNTRY. THAT’S OUR WEATHER.THE BEST PART IS THAT YOU GOT TO SPEED SOME QUALITY TIME WITH YOUR BOY.I TOTALLY AGREE WITH YOU ON THEIR DISAPPERANCE WHEN THEY ARE IN THEIR TEENS BUT THEN AGAIN THEY ARE GROWING UP.ANYWAY HAVE FUN WITH YOUR SNOW.TAKE CARE AND BYE

  6. I live in New York so we usually have some brutal winters. Last year was really bad. Winter 2010/2011 we had several blizzards and snowstorms plus an ice storm. Several of my co-workers fell and broke limbs. It was a horrible winter. This winter is much better. The weather has been quite mild and very little snow. Basically I hate snow & ice. It represents danger. Causes accidents.Slows down the buses and trains making you late for work and in the evening it can take over 2 hours just to get home unless you live near your job. Frankly I can do without winter, snow or ice. Hopefully when I get old enough to retire I will be able to afford to move to a warmer climate.

    • If you want to avoid delays like that, better move to the far south 🙂 I lived in Portland, OR for 3 years, during which it snowed 3 times. One of those times, I happened to be working downtown and commuting by bus. As soon as it started to snow, we asked our boss if we could close up and go home early, but he refused. I think we ended up getting about 1/2 inch of snow, and by the time I got off work (5 p.m.) the snow was gone, having been melted completely by rain. that didn’t stop the mass panic, however – people had abandoned their cars in the middle of the highway in their fear over the snow, and I waited in the rain for a bus for 3 hours before one that wasn’t already full stopped to pick us up. The then normally 30 minute bus trip took another 1 1/2 hours since it had to take an alternate route while the highways were cleared of abandoned cars. The snow was, of course, LONG since gone. Once I warmed up (and got over the cold I subsequently caught), I had to laugh. Several months later … 🙂

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

