Keep On Running

I’m in the midst of a new ‘thing’ which is actually an old ‘thing’ dusted off and given a new lease of life.  I have started to run again.  Now I know we’ve just had a summer of Olympics with sport everywhere but it really has nothing to do with that, honest.

As you may know if you’ve been reading my posts here I have been trying to lose weight for most of this year (and have done pretty well I think) but I’ve got to a point where very easily I could slip back into bad eating and unhealthy habits (plates stacked full of plain chocolate biccies, pizza, buns, pizza and off course lots of… pizza).

In my 20’s I did lots of exercise (circuit training, weights, running…) and for a short time felt pretty good about that side of my life.  But my knee decided it would complain (I had been abusing it and making it take my increasing weight after all so there are no hard feelings; we actually get on pretty well now apart from the odd twinge here or there).

I’m not sure how long this ‘thing’ will last but I am intending to try to continue past the point where I have attained and am maintaining my target weight (nothing exciting, I’m not wanting to be a stick insect after all my wide ‘child baring’ hips won’t let me).  Perhaps I’m going a bit mad but I’m managing a run every other day of roughly about 2-3 miles; I’m not sure I’m a natural, I do seem to be getting overtaken quite a lot by little old ladies in their 90’s (many in very fetching bright pink outfits) and with my face a match for any Post Office mail box (bright red for those of my overseas readers) I may not look the healthiest of chaps as I huff and puff my way around but I am feeling better!  I am!

There does seem to be a lot of us around along with cyclists so I don’t feel too lonely.  I even saw one lady brave enough to take her dog with her; I wouldn’t get far with mine as he likes to inspect every patch of grass which means a regular walk with him takes about an hour for a few hundred feet of travel!  I remember in my first fitness attempt in the 90’s I took our lovely dog for a jog and nearly ended up with two broken legs; he enjoyed playing with my feet as I (tried) to run.

Anyway must dash, I feel the urge to hit the road, to feel the joy of the road; in short I must keep on running!

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Keep On Running

  1. katyasozaeva

    I would point out that running is terribly hard on all your joints. It is better to maintain a brisk walk for the same distance; although it will take a bit longer, it provides the same amount of workout without the stress to your joints. Having started to develop arthritis at the ripe old age of 24, I’ve done a lot of research on these sorts of things.

    Still and all, glad you’re getting out and enjoying what’s left of the fall. The trick will be maintaining it in the middle of the winter when it’s pouring rain or snow, right? 🙂

    • Point taken Katy – not pushing it too hard hopefully but there is a certain feeling I can’t describe when you get to a certain level that is almost a semi state of euphoria, trance like – I managed it once a long time ago and I want it again. Now rain and snow…. we’ll see 🙂

    • Ok a quick update – my knees are playing up and I have had to stop the running 😦 It was good while it lasted though.

      • *singsong* waaaarrned yooooou! Heh. Keep walking – take it easy – get really good quality shoes with lots of support. If you go the same distance, it will provide you the same amount of exercise – it will just take longer, that’s all.

        Take care of your knees – having them replaced is a real bitch.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

