A Perception of Age

How old do you feel, how old do you think and how old do you look?  Each have their different perspective’s and differing answers I imagine.

Me well I feel different ages on different days depending on the circumstances, so today I feel about 60 give a take a few years either way; of course not being 60 and being a good decade away from that age I can’t know exactly how that feels (and for those of you that are around about this venerable age I welcome your thoughts on being 60 ish).  Basically I feel older than I am, a touch weary and my bones ache from the inside out.

My mind thinks I’m about 25 though sometimes I will admit to nearly 30; I’m conscious of being a little different, I’ve had nearly 30 years of existence and experience and that has to have some effect but my core self is still the same if a little jaded at the edges.

I think I look younger than I am (though when I grow a beard full of gingery white and grey bits I think I look way older!).  If I had to put an age to me I’d say late 30’s early 40’s but I could be fooling myself; if I look in the mirror after a particularly bad day I would amend that to match how I probably feel at that moment (matching the above).

I love to observe other people and I often wonder how old people are.  I am often surprised when I learn the real ages of people which usually tend to be younger than I originally imagined.  Sometimes it’s greying hair that does it which always adds a few years.  Other times it may well be a weathered face and many times the ravages of years of smoking can make a person age sooner.

I often, like many teenagers, worried about my acne but now I learn that this was actually a benefit, my skin having a touch more natural lubrication is now still soft (and still a pain to shave, it is very rare I scrape my face and don’t end up with little red  blotches of blood).  I suppose it’s the Ying and Yang of life, a natural balance.  But I can see the bags developing and I don’t think I’ll be able to claim a younger age for long, my really age is slowly dragging my imagined one up to it.

How old are you?

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “A Perception of Age

  1. I’ve always tried to maintain a “young” mindset; learned it from my grandmother, who was a kid until she died. Always full of fun. My body disagrees, creaky as an elder, but … *shrug* It’s all in one’s mind!

  2. As one of the Venerable ones ( and I’m not giving the extra above 60 either) I shall bestow my wisdom on you.

    Divide your actual age by 2 and then add a year so you can’t be called vain, and this is the age you actually are mentally…this doesn’t work well if you’re less than 1 by the way.

    Divide your actual age by 2 then add ten or twenty years dependant upon the alcohol intake the night before for the way you feel today.

    Divide your actual age by 2. This is how you look and if the mirror has the tenacity to disagree, break it and get a new one.
    Be Well, and follow the path of my Wisdom.

Please feel free to Leave a Reply

